PDA

View Full Version : E-Commerce/ SSL Sites

gregfindley.com
02-14-2006, 06:35 PM
Hi All,

Ive had an enquiry for an e-commerce website, just trying to get an idea... how difficult is it to make a basic e-commerce site? and what payment method would you recommend? Anyone with any experience of e-commerce?!!?

Complete e-commerce newbie here!!!! can anyone give me a basic outline of whats involved in terms of building the site using dw?

Thanks!
Greg Findley

Creative Insanity
02-14-2006, 07:37 PM
Here ya go (http://www.macromedia.com/devnet/dreamweaver/articles/php_cart.html).. have fun ;)

domedia
02-14-2006, 07:58 PM
there's nothing basic about making an e-commerce website.
Make sure:
-You're comfortable with server side scripting (the shopping cart)
-You understand security, SSL, encryption and how payment processors works.

If you can't say partly 'yes' to any of these, you should tell your client that.
If you want to provide this for clients in the future, start building your own to get familiar with what's needed to be able to provide this for pay.

gregfindley.com
02-15-2006, 01:09 PM
Yes, I have already made the client aware of my non existent experience. But he is still keen to use me for the design, so we are looking into other ways such as Fasthosts e-commerce package?

Does anyone know of any other packages similar to Fasthosts offering?

Thanks
Greg

ramandeep
02-15-2006, 01:33 PM
use a opensource shopping cart system ,rather than paying for setup and monthly!
Use zencart or oscommerce,you can use paypal as payment processor or there are many options for gateway.

ramandeep
02-15-2006, 01:36 PM
hey Dom, CI,

It duplicates the message in quotes when you edit your post. check out!

Creative Insanity
02-15-2006, 06:29 PM
didn't notice that ram and edited yours 4 times and nothing.

Creative Insanity
02-15-2006, 06:37 PM
didn't notice that ram and edited yours 4 times and nothing.