PDA

View Full Version : Adding Word text to DW?


fishugly
01-23-2006, 04:35 PM
Hello,

I'm new to DW (since Nov) and am trying to figure out the best method for adding text content to my web page. From all that I have read, thus far, it would seem that using the simple copy & paste method from Word would be the most cluttered way. However, in my case, for what ever reasons, the file size is the largest when I Import Word HTML.

I have also pasted the Word doc in Notepad then copied & pasted that to DW and the file size is the same as the simpler copy & paste direct from Word. So, I have just been doing that (copy/paste/Word).

Any recommendations/suggestions/wisdom appreciated.

If it matters, I'm using the following:

DW MX
Word 97
Windows XP Home Edition

domedia
01-23-2006, 05:35 PM
Don't preformat your text, let dremaweaver do it instead.

If you currently have your content in a word file, do this:
1. Copy text from Word.
2. Paste into Notepad
3. Copy from Notepad
4. Paste into Dreamweaver.
5. Format text in Dreamweaver

Cheers!

fishugly
01-23-2006, 06:12 PM
Thanks for the reply.

This may be a stupid question but how do you "format text in Dreamweaver"?

Appreciate the help.

domedia
01-23-2006, 06:31 PM
Highlight text and use the text properties window to set bold, color etc :) It's very 'Word' like, look in the manual if you have not used this before.

fishugly
01-23-2006, 08:57 PM
Boy, do I feel silly now;-).

Ok, one more question on this subject....

Why not just copy Word & paste it directly in to DW? I thought doing that cluttered up the code resulting in slower load speeds but,...prior to posting the original question, I did the following experiment with the same text:

1. Copy Word text, Paste into DW
2. Copy Word text, Paste into Notepad, Copy from Notepad, Paste into DW

I saved both files and compared the size. Both were the same size.

Are there other reasons to use method 2 other than trying to make the file sizes smaller?

domedia
01-23-2006, 09:30 PM
The reason you take it into notepad first, is not because of filesize.
You do it because MS Word creates propietary HTML that only IE (and it fails sometimes too) can render correctly. It's much better to let DW write tht html code for you.

Go into code view to get a better understanding (if you know html).
Get firefox to see how many people are viewing your website
http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

Jim_Shady
01-24-2006, 11:11 AM
Get firefox to see how many people are viewing your website
http://www.mozilla.com/firefox/

Lost me here Domedia? How does getting firefox show me how many people are viewing my site?

Shady

domedia
01-25-2006, 01:47 PM
Sorry, that was a case of norwenglish *cough*
"Download Firefox to view your webpage the same way many others view it"?
"Get Firefox so you know hoe Firefox users see your website." ;)