PDA

View Full Version : Backgrounds and layers

MaxBeckett
01-12-2006, 12:40 AM
Hi everyone,
I am pretty new to dreamweaver. I am a graphic designer and I am putting together a web site for myself. I've included a photohsop mock-up of what I am trying to do(it's a work in progress) . Basically my site is designed to look like a newspaper (yeah, I know, using high tech to reproduce low- tech, what can I say, I like the look, and I'm tired of slick looking "modern" type web designs). Is there some way to place text and what not on top of a background image/texture? Sure I could take the mock-up made in photoshop , just slice it up in imageready and make a page of it (which I did to see what it would look like with the rollovers and such). But I wanted to know if there is some better way to do this.

Also, ideally I would like the site to use that typewriter font, but, except for making all the texts into images, is that possible? Or is the only way that could work would be if the user has the font installed on his/her system? Sorry if these are stupid/basic questions, but I've never really used dreamweaver before.

One other question. I figured out how to add a layer onto my page and have it be hidden until a button is clicked. In this case I've tried doing this for the contact button. When "contact" is clicked a piece of torn newspaper appears on top of the page with the email info. I though I could put a hotspot on that layer, so that people could click on the email adress....but can't seem to do that. the image map/hotspot tools are unavailable when I've got that layer selected.

I hope this is somewhat comprehensible.
Thanks for the help, input, comments.
Cheers.

MaxBeckett
01-12-2006, 12:41 AM
This is what I meant by the piece of torn newspaper with the contact info.

MaxBeckett
01-12-2006, 12:46 AM