PDA

View Full Version : cant understand the function of DTDs

s_dragons_lair_c
12-26-2005, 02:55 PM
Hi,
I am a beginner to XML and have completed the DTD part. Now from what I have read I have presumed that the function of the DTD is to set rules for the XML document. Which means if I have an element in my XML document but not in my external DTD (or internal) or maybe a child element of some element in my XML document but not in my DTD, the browser should give an error message. So I tried to get an error by doing so but the browser doesn't give any error. It just displays the document as it is. I even tried giving an invalid value to an attribute (I gave some other options in my DTD for the attribute) but the browser does not give any error message and displays the invalid attribute. Even if I give the root element in the <!DOCTYPE> different from the root element in the document still does not give any error message.

So, is what I have understood from my reading wrong or can there be some problem with my coding? :(

ranjan
12-26-2005, 04:04 PM
The DTD specifies the precedence or priority of the rules set. If no rule exists the browsers will just go with the defaults. So as long as the XML is valid the browser will not give you errors

For eg:

If I redine <div> in a custom doctype to have a display of sphere instead of box (as in XHTML). Then the browser will render it as sphere (if the browser is capable of doing so) because prcedence is given to my doctype before XHTML standard doctype

Similarly

If i use the tag <father hewas="great">He provided for us</father> in an XHTML doc without a custom DTD. It will be ingnored, but because the tag is wellformed I will also get no errors

s_dragons_lair_c
12-26-2005, 04:49 PM