PDA

View Full Version : wrapping text with sandbag divs!


matt9b
12-15-2005, 02:04 AM
I'm building a site.

Here is a flash picture of the layout: http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomerset...te/menu8w2.html ('http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomersetwebsite/menu8w2.html')

And here is my implementation so far:
http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomersetwebsite/index.html ('http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomersetwebsite/index.html')
http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomerset...ite/default.css ('http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomersetwebsite/default.css')

I am using divs to wrap text inside "swirly" lines. I have set borders around the div elements for diagnostic purposes here.

Does anyone know of a better method than this?

Dreamweaver doesn't display the text correctly (try opening the page in dreamweaver). Text seems to go through div elements 34 and above, as if they don't exist.

Ie and mozilla display it okay. Does anyone know of a bug in dreamweaver which could cause this? Is there a maximum number of divs dreamweaver can cope with?

(If not, is my code dodgy?)


Thanks for any help anyone can offer!

Creative Insanity
12-15-2005, 05:34 AM
Top link is a very nice layout. Clean and very pleasing.

Very cunning text alignment.

Sorry I cannot help as I hardly use divs.. just wanted to comment on the nice look you got going there.
dj may be your best bet here.
He should not be far away. should just about be scratching his belly by now.

rj would be able to answer this one also since he has proberly forgotten more about DW than most of us will ever know. But he gets very busy and we don't see him much.

davidj
12-15-2005, 08:40 AM
dj may be your best bet here.
He should not be far away. should just about be scratching his belly by now.

and the rest of my darker regions... (Get that image out your head!!!)

ok. Back to work...

i would cut up content slices where you want the text to appear and assign the slices as <td> backgrounds.

then i would use css on the text (align center) and drop in
's where needed

example...

Welcome to Kate Somerset's Official site!
I never spend much time in school but I taught ladies
plenty. It's true I hire my body out for pay, hey hey. I've gotten
burned over Cheryl Tiegs, blown up for Raquel Welch. But when I end up in
the hay it's only hay, hey hey. I might jump an open drawbridge, or Tarzan from
a vine. 'Cause I'm the unknown stuntman that makes Eastwood look so fine.
Welcome to Kate Somerset's Official site! I never spend much time
in school but I taught ladies plenty. It's true I hire my
body out for pay,

domedia
12-15-2005, 12:47 PM
I would just ignore DW's rendering problems in this case. IE and FF has their seperate rednering engines, as DW does. But since noone is going to view your website trhrough DW, I would just ignore it :)

davidj
12-15-2005, 12:49 PM
sorry. Though it was an html question

overlooked the flash bit

thats what you get for having beer for lunch

matt9b
12-18-2005, 02:30 PM
I would cut up content slices where you want the text to appear and assign the slices as <td> backgrounds.

then i would use css on the text (align center) and drop in
's where needed

Cheers for that Daviddj,

I need to be able to edit content quickly in dreamweaver, and having separate <td> slices, combined with dropping <br's> and, then, to test in browsers each time I update a page, would take too long. So, I guess I'll stick with the current method (unless you or anyone has any other ideas? :) )

The page is actually now:
http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomersetwebsite/index.php ('http://www.stedeford.com/site/katesomersetwebsite/index.php')
The first link in the first post is no longer invalid.

I have made the text bubble less wide so it's easier to read, and the text bubble now changes size dynamically to fit the text.

It actually does show up okay in dreamweaver now (depends where the paragraphs are - don't know why!) I guess macromedia dreamweaver still has dodgy css rendering- shame!.

</div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (davidj)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
... sorry. Though it was an html question

overlooked the flash bit...[/quote:c5ba161a78]

Oh and it was a html question, u did answer it right :)

matt9b
12-18-2005, 02:34 PM
I would just ignore DW's rendering problems in this case. IE and FF has their seperate rednering engines, as DW does. But since noone is going to view your website trhrough DW, I would just ignore it :)
I need to edit the content pages in DW in order to see what I'm doing with tables, pictures, and general layout. This is for my sake, to speed up editing.

davidj
12-19-2005, 07:39 AM
are you using PHP ??

i have an idea if you are