PDA

View Full Version : calling Session variables for Database submissions

boozer
12-15-2005, 01:43 AM
Hi.
I am pretty new to Dreamweaver, and have read all I can on this issue, so firgive me if the answer is obvious.

I have successfully created a login page, as well as all of my database tables. I am able to successfully register and login my users. However, it seems that I am unable to call the session variables.

What is going on is this: My web site is designed for inventory management. After a user logs in, the user will then be able to add, edit, and delete their inventory items. When a new item is posted, I have hidden fields (company_name, post_ip, post_time, post_date, id, username, etc). My problem is that the hidden form fields company_name, id, contact_name (the person's name) are not being inserted into the database.

I have all the appropriate recordsets created, as well as the dynamic text to display session variables. Somehow, I know there is a way that when a user logs in, the entire row of the table can be registered as a session variable. But how?

Any ideas? I will post the code if anyone needs it.

boozer
12-15-2005, 05:56 AM
I have made some progress. It seems like I have made a small error somewhere. From what I can tell from my experimenting, if the PHPSESSID is added to the end of any URL, the session variables work.

How do I put the PHPSESSID in the url of all pages that are calling session variables?

boozer
12-15-2005, 06:40 AM
anyone?

Creative Insanity
12-15-2005, 07:59 AM
wait a sec.. most are either in bed or still at work.
Someone will answer in due course.

davidj
12-15-2005, 08:38 AM
<a href="newpage.php?var1=1&var2=2&var3=thisisastring">click here to pass vars</a>

<a href="newpage.php?var1=1&var2=2&var3=<?php echo $_SESSION['sessionvar']; ?>" >click here to pass vars</a>

boozer
12-15-2005, 07:21 PM