PDA

View Full Version : LQQKing for Freelancing Information

aestronza
11-11-2005, 07:40 PM
I am currently a student, soon approaching the end of my BFA in Visual Communications. I was really hoping to gain some knowledge on how as a Freelancer you charge your customer. I have talked to someone who is a Web Desginer, and am not completely satisfied with the response.

Can anyone, please, shed some light on this subject for me? Any feedback would be very much appreciated.

Aleja

Creative Insanity
11-11-2005, 11:13 PM
That is a hard one as what would be the rate for one client will differ from another.
Complexities also come into it. Like you could not set a large sum for a contract that is only basic and will only take 10 minutes.

The way I set a contract rate (which differs from contract to contract), is that I have my hourly rate that I consider reasonable and with that I plot down on paper what is involved to complete that contract and how long it would take me to do it. Then once I have a hourly figure I times that by my rate and charge that. If the client is a regular I normaly take off a percentage for their dedication and to also get them to come back again.

Don't start too high as the contractee will say "stuff you" and go somewhere else. Be reasonable to both yourself and the client.

I cannot tell you what hourly rate to charge as I do not know your ablilities for the line you want to go into.

davidj
11-14-2005, 07:59 AM
or you could have a per page rate

If its a static html 5-8 pager then you should know how long this would take. Also build in the design time. I usualy knock up a couple of flat jpg concepts and present them on the 2nd meeting.

There are grants to be had here in the uk for businesses where marketing is concerned. I worked for a company that priced themselves high but the cost to the client was probably a third of the quote because we would claw the balance back from the grant... hehe :D

aestronza
11-14-2005, 10:36 PM