PDA

View Full Version : Dyanamic new tickers


ramandeep
10-21-2005, 03:20 PM
Hi,

How can we make a news tikker?

1)whose content can be updated dyanamically.
2)which can be added to any computers active desktops by a simple button.

Details:

-we want to make news tikker,whose content we will update daily.
-Our clients can add that ticker to thier active desktop by simple clicking on a button.(add this tikker to your desktop)

Any ideas !

Thanx

bkendall
10-21-2005, 06:41 PM
I have seen some widgets that do things similar to this, I would look up developing widgets in google. I am sure there are other methods to do it as well but not too familar with developing for active desktop.

davidj
10-24-2005, 09:38 AM
1)whose content can be updated dyanamically.

you can use flash to do this. I have lost my upload function so cant send you an example. Watch this space as i will upload once i am able too


2)which can be added to any computers active desktops by a simple button.

i think you could do this dynamically. You need to set every desktop with the same active desktop page (blank initialy) and have a dynamic menu on the page where users can add modules into the initial page. I dont know that much about active desktops so im unsure how you can record what everyone has chosen on their desktop. Maybe a cookie or a db backend.