PDA

View Full Version : Can I re-build a current site in Dreamweaver MX


chefkeithb
10-05-2005, 10:05 PM
Hi,
I am new to this forum and Dreamweaver for that matter.
I started a web site for my wife's business with a WSYWIG Web Studio 4.0 .
I was told I could import the current site and finish what I started in Dreamweaver. Any hints would great !!! :D
Thankyou Keith
www.robbiesheehan.com

Creative Insanity
10-05-2005, 10:20 PM
Yes that is very easy to do. :)

I take it that you have your site on your local system in a folder.

So now load up dreamweaver and expand the files tab and click on the files dropdown and select Manage Sites (bottom selection).

This will bring up a diaolog and click on the new button, then select site.
From there it is just a matter of following the local stuff only if just HTML and if a dynamic site such as php or asp you will also have to fill out the testing server info also.

But it looks like your site is just a static one (HTML) so you will only need to fill out the local section.

From there DW will list your site with all files and folders under files.
Now just double click on the pages you want to change/edit and add any new pages you want by right-click and select what you want to add.

Hope this helps.

chefkeithb
10-06-2005, 01:22 AM
Great Help Thankyou !!!
Keith :)