PDA

View Full Version : image switching (...i think)

MaxBeckett
10-04-2005, 07:24 PM
Hello,
I'm totally new to dremweaver and have hit a snag. I'll try to describe it as clearly as possible.
I'm making a simple web site to showcase my (print) graphic design work. I designed ma pages in photoshop and then sliced them up and made the rollovers in imageready, then loaded them up in dreamweaver. The way my portfolio section is designed, I have a central section that is a kind of grid of black and white thumbnails, when you rollover one it gets colorized. All that was easy to do. Now I could just link the thumbnail to a new page on which we see the larger, complete, image related to the thumbnail, but that would mean reloading sections of the page unnecessarily. When a thumb is cliked I want that grid of small images to be replaced by the large image of the thumb that was just clicked. How can I do this? I know this grid thing sounds off, but it looks really cool.

Can anyone help?

One thing I did figure out, was how to use layers to make stuff appear and disappear, but using that for this would mean having 15 to 20 hidden layers on page. It seems somewhat inneficient to do it that way.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

bkendall
10-04-2005, 07:28 PM
Now I could just link the thumbnail to a new page on which we see the larger, complete, image related to the thumbnail, but that would mean reloading sections of the page unnecessarily.

Why would linking to a new page be reloading the page? If you link to a new page you are not reloading the page you were on. Unless you are meaning going abck and forth from the new pages to the thumbnail pages and in most cases your browser will cache the images.

MaxBeckett
10-04-2005, 07:34 PM
hmmm.