PDA

View Full Version : Images missing on particular PC (in both IE & FF)


Coober
09-10-2005, 01:03 PM
OK, first let me apologise as this post has nothing to do with DW. However, knowing that you guys have 'been around the block' you may be able to help.

Setting up a new site for a client and testing at their premises.

On a particular PC, some of the images with links attached do not display. As the client only had IE installed, I (naturally) considered this was another IE problem. So, I downloaded and installed FF, which made no difference - the images were still missing. Now I'm thinking I've screwed up somewhere.

On another of their PCs, I also installed FF, which displayed the images perfectly (in addition to IE displaying the images correctly).

I am assuming that this is due to a particular system setting on that particular PC, but cannot find which setting to change (both the above-mentioned PCs have identical "Internet settings").

Here's the site in question! ('http://www.bolamotte.co.za/cottages.htm')

Clicking on one of the 4 images (each of which displays correctly on both PCs) takes you to the page for the respective cottage.

With the exception of the "Pear Tree Cottage" page, the 3 images at the foot of the page link to larger files. As Pear tree cottage is not yet completed, these images have no links in place.

On the PC in question, it is the 3 images in "Pear Tree Cottage" that display correctly, whilst the images on the other (individual cottage) pages are missing.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Coober

shinerweb
09-12-2005, 02:36 AM
It appears as if you fixed it... (At least I couldn't see anything broken).
Was it a path problem (the ..// .// / always gets me)

It's a shame you fixed it though. I would asked for discount on one of the cottages (nearest the winery would have done).

Regards

Chris

Coober
09-12-2005, 06:44 AM
I have not fixed it. Actually there is nothing wrong with the site itself; the problem in on one particular PC at my client's premises.

As mentioned previously, I doubt that anyone else would be able to 'see' the problem as it occurs in both IE & FF, which suggests to me that it is due to settings on the PC itself.

Coober

Jim_Shady
09-12-2005, 03:24 PM
Reasons that a browser might not be displaying the pictures:

Firefox
TOOLS> OPTIONS> WEB FEATURES > LOAD IMAGES FOR ORIGINAL WEBSITE ONLY

Internet Explorer
TOOLS> INTERNET OPTIONS> ADVANCED > then check under the section MULTIMEDIA that the correct options are slected. You should be able to see what they are.

Does the PC display the pictures from other websites?

Wierd problem.

Shady.

Coober
09-13-2005, 12:29 PM
And it gets weirder...

This is the actual code from the page in question ('http://www.bolamotte.co.za/oak.htm'):

<div id="oakThumbs">
<p>Click a picture below for a larger view (opens in new browser window)</p>

<a href="Images/fSize/oakKitchen.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="Images/tNail/oakKitchen.jpg" width="120" height="90" border="0" class="right"></a>

<a href="Images/fSize/oakBed.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="Images/tNail/oakBed.jpg" width="120" height="90" border="0" class="left"></a>

<a href="Images/fSize/oakLounge.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="Images/tNail/oakLounge.jpg" width="120" height="90" border="0"></a>

</div

And this is the code when viewing the source on the (dodgy) PC:

<div id="oakThumbs">
<p>Click a picture below for a larger view (opens in new browser window)</p>

<a href="Images/fSize/oakKitchen.jpg" target="_blank"></a>

<a href="Images/fSize/oakBed.jpg" target="_blank"></a>

<a href="Images/fSize/oakLounge.jpg" target="_blank"></a>

</div

As you can see, on the (dodgy) PC, the img source parameters have been 'stripped' from the file, together with the class.

Meanwhile, on the parent page (www.bolamotte.co.za/cottages.htm ('http://www.bolamotte.co.za/cottages.htm')) the images with links attached are rendered correctly.

All the Internet settings look ok to me and besides, I cannot imagine that this is the place to look as it's obviously not a browser-specific problem. I guess it must be a generic setting, somewhere else.

Coober

Coober
09-16-2005, 09:06 AM
OK, solved the problem!

Norton's "Ad Blocker" was enabled on that particular PC. As the images were of a standard size (120 x 90) and had a link associated with each image, it was obviously considered to be an advert and therefore blocked.

Diabling Ad Blocking solved the problem. However, I assume that someone else, somewhere in the World, would also have this option enabled, which would screw up the site. I therefore changed the image dimensions (only in the code, not the actual image) to 120 x 89. Now, even with Ad Blocking enabled, the images are rendered perfectly.

I think this is a very good point to bear in mind if you have images with links attached.

If you're interested, here's a link to a page detailing the standard sizes ('http://www.upsdell.com/BrowserNews/res_banners.htm') of banners and ads. If any of your (linked) images are these sizes, they would be blocked if Ad Blocking is enabled.

Coober