PDA

View Full Version : Pop up menu help


rdhd1990
08-31-2005, 12:30 PM
Hi i hope someone can help or give me any tips on this ect.

The problem is that i have used the pop up menu behavior to create pop up menus on some of the images in my nav bar and they work fine, however i have now added some flash stuff to the site and the pop up menus go behind them when i want them to go over the top like they do with other pictures on the site.

I hope someone can help i need to have the site finished by the end of the week lol. :unsure:

kate
08-31-2005, 01:00 PM
Hya,

Please supply either, your link to the site. or put your code in the code tag so we can see whats happening.

Thanks.

:)

rdhd1990
08-31-2005, 01:30 PM
i have a screen shot of the problem if it helps i dont want to relese the addy till it fin

Screen Shot ('http://homepage.ntlworld.com/c.dunning/pop%20up%20help%20pic.bmp')

domedia
08-31-2005, 03:41 PM
Flash content has infinite z-index, so you can't place anything above it.

dreamlynx
08-31-2005, 03:45 PM
just add this line to your flash code. it is simple. tis code will cause the flash to be transparent and will allow the menu to appear over the top of the flash.

<param name="wmode" value="transparent">


Example of the code in dreamweaver.

<td width="89%"><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="468" height="60">
<param name="movie" value="flash/banner.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<param name="wmode" value="transparent"> <----- this line is added to the flash code.

this should solve your problem.

dan

domedia
08-31-2005, 03:47 PM
Thanks for the code dreamlynx, that looks really good!

kate
08-31-2005, 03:55 PM
Added to fav's

Thankyou dreamlynx, bring as may tips as you want... ;)

Kate.

rdhd1990
08-31-2005, 04:47 PM
thx so much

dreamlynx
09-01-2005, 04:21 AM
Your very welcome. I do this all day long and love to give good advice.
This is a good forum domedia. how long has it been here

domedia
09-01-2005, 01:11 PM
A year and a half with this domain name now. We we're a Yahoo group for years.