PDA

View Full Version : Drop Down Menus


Jewels
07-21-2005, 04:31 AM
I have created a html drop down menu in fireworks and exported to dreamweaver.
It works fine when I preview in Dreamweaver but when I upload it to the server the page has errors on it and it will not work.
Any ideas why?
This is quite an emergency, so any help would be very apprectiated!

here is a link:
www.kissthesky.com.au/mortgagechoice/index.htm

thanks... jewels

ranjan
07-21-2005, 06:15 AM
you forgot to upload this file

mm_menu.js

also dreamweaver popup menus have a lot of problems. some of them are

1. size - the menu is about 40K, increasing page load time in an already graphics heavy page. not everybody has broadband!
2. search engine optimization - the submenus are not a part of html they are generated dynamically by javascript, search engine bots do not follow the links and hence your page indexing suffers
3. accessibility - folks that are disabled, or who browse with javascript turned off will not be able to navigate

you might like to use a lighter, more accessible option ('http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/dreamweaver-dhtml-menu.php')

Jewels
07-21-2005, 07:30 AM
thankyou so so much!
you solved my problem!