PDA

View Full Version : DW Template and pop up menu


zeph
07-04-2005, 04:59 PM
I have a weird problem. WHen i make a template, and i insert some images and then give the pop up menu behaviours to the images, it works. after I save as template and make new html based on the templates, it is still ok.

Now the problem is, when i go back to the template to make alterations so that it can be updated to the HTML, I can no long use the pop up menu behaviour. I can insert an image, but then I go to behaviour, the pop up menu option is not available.

el pendejo
07-12-2005, 10:15 PM
damn it! same problem here!?

I can't use the popmenu on my template anymore?

Thanks

2mi
11-08-2005, 10:25 AM
I simply wanted to add that i am also trying to find the solution to this same problem.

Being: The option to add a popup/flyout menu from the behaviors window in Dreamweaver MX2004 is not available if you're working from a template, or a page created from a template. It's only available when working from a normal html page.

Is this simply a shortcoming of Dreamweaver?

And if so, does anyone know of a way to overcome this?

In other words, have a popup/flyout menu (triggered by the main navigation menu created with CSS - not images) on a template page that can be treated/edited like other elements on a template page, where if you change something on it, it can automatically update all other pages created from it.

Thanx heaps in advance to anyone who can help.

n

domedia
11-08-2005, 02:03 PM
Using the built in functions can be unreliable. This is due to the paths in Javascript which DW for some reason has a hard time to update. More on this issue here:
http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowledg...cfm?id=tn_13129 ('http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowledgebase/index.cfm?id=tn_13129')

The easy answer is to build your own menu (ok, maybe not an easy option), or use another menu. More on other menus here:
http://www.apptools.com/rants/menus.php ('http://www.apptools.com/rants/menus.php')