PDA

View Full Version : Very Interesting Page


Sloth_Boy
06-17-2005, 01:38 AM
Would any of you know how to get that image to hover and cast a unique shadow ('http://www.freeadvertisingforum.com/')

Very interesting, you might find it handy

Note: it may not show, wat your suppose to see is a peice of paper floating over everything else...

Heres a screenshot


http://img250.echo.cx/img250/1066/floatingimage0mb.jpg

domedia
06-17-2005, 01:50 AM
3-rd party solution from Instant Attention http://www.instantattention.com/ ('http://www.instantattention.com/') Check them out.
My first guess was that it was some kind of PNG transparency, but it the ad works in IE, so that would rule that out. Next thought was Flash, but Flash has infinitive Z-index so that rules that out (content sits on top of the shadow). That leaves normal web dev combination of CSS and Javascript left. So it's DHTML. I'm sure Instant Attention is not going to tell you how it's done, they base their business on this.

Sloth_Boy
06-17-2005, 02:15 AM
I really Cant Wait until more browsers, especially IE get support for PNG transparency. I mean, GIF has shit rough edges and stuff.

For that popup thing, thats bloody good as...

gmcrone
06-17-2005, 09:14 PM
IE 7 supports png alpha channels

Mike...

Sloth_Boy
06-18-2005, 02:41 AM
Is IE 7 out, how long has that been out for?

gmcrone
06-18-2005, 10:42 PM
No, not out yet, still in beta. Should be released late summer.

Can't say anymore...

Mike...

ranjan
06-19-2005, 02:02 PM
The effect is easy to replicate

http://ranjan.ws/whims/tst.htm ('http://ranjan.ws/whims/tst.htm')

Its all CSS, no javascript (except show/hide layer to close the note). CLick on the note to close it

domedia
06-19-2005, 04:45 PM
interesting.. is this all you need to do to make IE support PNG alpha right? #mynote {
background:none;
filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImag eLoader(src='images/note.png', sizingMethod='scale')

ranjan
06-19-2005, 07:37 PM
yes

Sloth_Boy
06-21-2005, 08:35 AM
Well, Now i wonder why IE creators didnt make "no background" default...