PDA

View Full Version : Best Dreamweaver Book

andy384
05-30-2005, 08:40 PM
I am a complete beginner when it comes to Dreamweaver. But I would like to build my own site using .CSS

I got a template for my homepage from opensource.org which has webpages w/CSS and such for free use and I was able to figure out how to "plug in" what I wanted into the homepage. So my homepage looks great but I want to go ahead and build the rest of the site now.

After hours of trying to figure it out on my own I have been unsuccessful in learning how to make a page. I guess I will start by reading the manual. I eventually would like to be pretty advanced but as I said before I am a complete beginner right now.

What is the best book or series of books I should buy to start me out and progress to becoming an advanced user?

How long does it take to become an advanced Dreamweaver user? I already have very good knowledge of computers and I am a pretty quick learner.

I basically want to get a feel of how long the learning process is and if I want to undertake it or have someone else design my site. I really want to do it myself but I am unaware of exactly "what it takes" to become proficient with Dreamweaver.

Please let me know if there is any "must reads" or great teaching books out there.

If someone can give me a general idea of "what it takes" I would appreciate it very much.

Thanks

gmcrone
05-30-2005, 09:06 PM
The learning process can take years to fully understand and be able to use what you have learned.

Books:
The Dummy Series of books are good for beginners.
Dreamweaver MX Bible Series
Foundations from Project Seven for CSS basics
Eric Myers books on CSS for more advanced CSS
Then there are literally thousands of tutorials available on the web.

In your learning curve you should approach it thusly:
1. Learn HTML/XHTML so that you can create pages using just notepad
2. Then learn about CSS and experiment with it.