PDA

View Full Version : div placement

cochese
05-21-2005, 03:04 PM
Hello everyone. I'm new to Dreamweaver, and web design, so please overlook my ignorance. :) Instead of working with tables, I'm taking the plunge and trying to use CSS. I'll describe what I'm trying to accomplish, and if anyone is able, please tell me if I'm barking up the wrong tree, and if not, maybe how to do it.

I'm starting with a frame page, left frame is the nav area, right side is where the content is going. In the nave area, the top part will have a small logo, the middle will be the actual navigation area, and at the bottom of the page I want another little picture/logo. I want this picture logo to always be at the bottom, no matter what screen resolution the user has. oh, btw, the nav area won't be scrollable.

I can do this with tables, but I'm trying not to. When I try css, I'm lost. So far I have placed 3 divs in the nav area, but they stack one on top of the other. I can give them a particular height in pixels, which allows me to align the bottom pic to the bottom in my resolution, but doesn't make it flexible to another's resolution. I tried giving the div a %, but that seemed to do nothing at all.

And while I'm at it...is it possible to give the middle div (the actual nav area) a % size, so that I can make the nav links always in the center of the frame, no matter what the user's resolution is at? If so, then wouldn't it always push the bottom div (with my picture/logo) to the bottom as well? ...killing two birds with one stone ;)

Thanks for the help. I'm glad I found thsi place.

-MIKE

gmcrone
05-22-2005, 06:52 PM
1. Can you give us a URL to the page so we can see your markup??

2. Don't use frames, they are outdated and will soon go the way of the dodo bird.

Have you tried to do a "float: left" on your nav div's?

Mike...

cochese
05-22-2005, 07:10 PM