PDA

View Full Version : Novice needs help

keith
05-21-2005, 11:49 AM
Hi. I am quite new to Dreamweaver, and have disigned a couple of sites that I think are nice looking. However, when I went onto them on someone elses computer, which was a higher resolution - it looked different. I realised that I don't know what sizes to use, and do I align it all to the left or to the centre, so that It looks OK on any computer.

Also .... how the heck can I insert a vertical line? I want to put an upright line (like a horizontal rule ... only vertical)

Finally, is it possible to shape a photo with rounded corners, or put a rounded corner border on it?

Hope someone can help.

kate
05-21-2005, 05:19 PM
Hya,
From my forums try this chunk of code Keith:

<top><table width="100%" height="10%" border="0"
cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><TR><td valign="top"
align="center">

:)

gmcrone
05-22-2005, 06:24 PM
1. What you need to create is what is called a fluid layout. Meaning it will resize itself properly depending on the users screen resolution.
This can be done either using tables based on a percentage layout or with CSS positioning.

2. Verical lines are normally created by using a graphic of a line and positioning it where you want it. Vertical dividers can also be created using CSS and the border property.

3. Rounded corners. Yes it can be done, but takes a bit of work. You need a graphics program like Fireworks to create a vector mask that is rounded and then pour/import your graphic inside the mask. There are other ways using CSS/tables etc and creating the corner graphics by slicing your image and making the 4 corners with a transparent background.
The image itself is always a rectangle, but using the above methods makes it appear to be rounded.

Mike...

keith
05-22-2005, 07:39 PM
Thanks a lot. I'll have to take a while to read it through, and try to figure it out. I have firefox but haven't installed it yet.