PDA

View Full Version : All about Layers ?


burriedcreativity
04-18-2005, 10:55 AM
Hi there,

This is my first post here in this forum. I am quite a new for dreamweaver MX.
Can somebody give some useful tips on converting Layers to tables? As whenever I try to convert layers to table then it just goes off my layout (I mean the layer gets converted to tables and that table is placed above my layout). Is there any trick I am missing here?

Or is it necessary to Convert Layers to Tables always is there any drawback if I keep my layers as it is without converting?

Whenever I export my sliced PSD file into Dreamweaver MX and tries to delete some of the slices for say buttons or navigation bar then it shows a white patch in Dreamwearver like the entire slices are disturbed by deleting one of those but when I see its preview in IE then it look ok Why so? Even if I try to hit tab to move to the next button slice it gets disturbed completely?


Thnx.

Jim_Shady
04-18-2005, 02:23 PM
Don't use layers. They are crap and difficult to work with and even harder to get them to look how you want them to.

Get used to building tables within tables and using CSS stylesheets instead.

Jim Shady.

gmcrone
04-18-2005, 03:24 PM
A few questions first.

When you export your sliced file, are you exporting the slices only or also the HTML?
Are you using Image Ready to export?
Do you have a website url with your page on it so we can see the source code?

Don't use TAB to move around, hitting tab inserts a tab into your page.

It is not necessary to convert to tables, however you need to know how to position your slices using CSS absolute positioning.

Here is an example page using slices and absolute positioning:
http://www.kridan.com/index2.htm ('http://www.kridan.com/index2.htm')

Mike....

burriedcreativity
04-20-2005, 01:55 PM
I am using ImageReady to export slices with gif file as well as HTML files .
waiting for help...