PDA

View Full Version : help with relative-width tables and IE


jkmccoy
04-07-2005, 08:16 PM
Forgive me if this subject has been thoroughly discussed in the past. I am new here and although I did search the forum I didn't find an answer.

I have a web site that has page about a bunch of my hobbies. http://www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy ('http://www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy') It is all very simple html. It's just photos and text about the photos. Some pages do have frames for menus, but nothing more complex. A couple of months ago I started to upgrade the design so that it would appear about the same at different screen resolutions. Using DW3, I set about rewriting the pages using layers for the layout, then converting the layers to tables (with transparent .gif's), then converting the tables to relative widths. Worked great. The pages resize to fit the screen at whatever the resolution is. The layout doesn't change too much. I thought all was well...

Then I looked at my site using Internet Explorer (I always use Netscape). In IE the tables don't resize correctly. Some of them become wider than the screen and require side-to-side scrolling. Some pages work correctly (e.g. http://www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy/shop/shop.htm ('http://www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy/shop/shop.htm')) and some pages look awful in IE (e.g. www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy/fordtrck/liftkit/liftkit.htm ('http://www.wcc.net/~jkmccoy/fordtrck/liftkit/liftkit.htm').

I've looked at the code. I can't see any reason why some pages work and I can't see any reason why some don't . I can see that even though the overall table size is relative, some elements have a fixed width. Could that be causing the trouble? If so, why doesn't it cause the trouble on all of the pages.

Any suggestions that you might have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kelly McCoy

domedia
04-07-2005, 08:43 PM
Hi Kelly and welcome to the forum! B)
I'd honestly advice you to remake those tables. Your layout is not very complex but your have literally hundreds of tablecells (TD's) in your code. Finding a good table tutorial for dreamweaver might help you better understand how they work too. I also recommend never to do layout in layers and then convert to tables, the result is seldom good :(.

Did you consider upgrading your software as well?

jkmccoy
04-07-2005, 09:07 PM
Thanks for the welcome. I know the tables are extremely busy. I'm sure it's because the layout was done in layers and then converted and there are lots of elements of different sizes so you get a table with hundreds of cells (many blank).

I'm not sold on the "layout in layers and convert to tables" but it was the easiest way to get where I thought I wanted to go. The pages were originally just htm coded with paragraphs, breaks and alignment tags to control the layout. The only problem was that the pages looked very small if the screen was set to higher resolution.

I'm not really interested in doing the layout in the tables, because I don't want the location/size of elements to be that rigid.

I use Dreamweaver so seldom and I use so little of its functions now that I don't have a pressing need to upgrade. If you tell me that upgrading to the latest version will fix my problem...I will.

Cheers,
Kelly McCoy

Jim_Shady
04-08-2005, 11:11 AM
Hi there Kelly.

I'd have to agree with Domedia - tables tables and more tables are the way forward (without the layers to tables tool).

I think that after playing around with it for a while you will get the layout that you are looking for.

As for upgrading, the newer versions are most definitly better - but if you don't use it much then I wouldn't personally bother. Unless you can get a dodgy 5 copy..... :unsure:

Good luck - Shady.

PS: Nice set of Lathe's.....

Jim_Shady
04-08-2005, 11:14 AM
Oh, by the way, pages look fine in Mozilla...