PDA

View Full Version : Anyone take the plunge.

underzen
06-15-2004, 04:31 PM
So has anyone taken the plunge and converted a table based site to a pure CSS site?

I am thinking about doing it for a few of my sites. But when I think about it I always find an excuse not too, LOL :D

natimage
06-15-2004, 10:26 PM
...wait...horrible memories returning!!!

Ok...I'm over it! ;) I'm just being dramatic! I didn't try converting a site, but tried building one in all css. I can say that I have a decent understanding of css...completely self-taught though, and I don't have any books yet. Having said that, I will say that I won't do it again in the near future. I know there are people out there that are much better than me, and they've accomplished wonderful things with css. I, however, did not have the patience to go back and forth between Mozilla and IE trying to make the site work. If I only had to worry about one browser...it would have been a cakewalk!

Anyway...I gave up for now. I've gotten along pretty well with using nested tables for positioning and css for most everything else!

Good luck to you if you decide to go on the css journey! I learned a lot...but not enough, apparently! :)

gmcrone
06-16-2004, 08:42 PM
I, however, did not have the patience to go back and forth between Mozilla and IE trying to make the site work. If I only had to worry about one browser...it would have been a cakewalk!

Natimage,
What problems did you have as most CSS is cross browser campatible??

This is part of a CSS sheet for layout that I use on one of my sites:
body {
background: #E7E4D9 url(assets/v2_pbg.jpg) repeat-x;
margin-top: 160px;
margin-right: 10%;
margin-bottom: 0px;
margin-left: 5%;
text-decoration: none;
}
#logoDiv {
position: absolute;
left: 0px;
top: 0px;
}
#navDiv {
position: absolute;
left: 0px;
top: 106px;
}

All the above positions the DIV's on the page to specified areas and is fully compatible with all browsers..

Mike...

natimage
06-17-2004, 02:54 AM