PDA

View Full Version : Where did you learn web design?

Ross
05-20-2004, 03:33 PM
Did you get tutored, or teach yourself? And if so, what sites did you use etc?

domedia
05-20-2004, 03:40 PM
Personally I was completely self-thought. I looked at source code and tried to modify it to see what happened. Later I discovered DW, and was able to work *alot* more productive. Project Seven ('http://www.projectseven.com/') has always been a great place for me to learn more Dreamweaver specific techniques, and WebMonkey ('http://www.webmonkey.com') (back when the site was decent) for more general web design and html.

Nowadays I'm smart enough to buy books and have ready reference to stuff when I need it :)

wannamartin
05-20-2004, 08:13 PM
B) I began as self taught, but later enrolled in a program at the University and got a certification in Internet Multimedia Design (2yr course). Although I knew how to run many program like Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Frontpage and such, I learned more about the finer points of design layout, typography, information archetecture, section 508 compliance of the ADA, usability studies, action scripts, Quicktime Pro, Illustrator, MySQL, PHP, javascript, Dhtml, team management, and more.

I feel like the certificaion also helped my confidence in knowing that my self-taught education didn"t have any gaps left where I might have missed something.

Good Luck to You!

gmcrone
05-20-2004, 09:46 PM
I am self-taught also. I believe most people are today, then when they want to learn new skills they take a course. The only courses I ever took were computer science and electronics in university. I did come from a print background which I believe made the transition to web easier.